A Day in the Life of:

I hithertofore declare myself insane….

This one will be more of just an explanation of my whereabouts offline. Like it is of any consequence… Anywho…

I start my days now with a bit more of a spring in my step even though I’m nearly back to being a minimum wage earner. But I like my job, and it has potential. A good help could find themselves opening or taking over the management of a Locke Supply store within just months of the probation period.

Right now I float between warehouse 159 and 161, which actually share the same building as 160 and we are Plumbing, Electrical, and HVAC numbered respectively. It is a well setup company, and let’s face it I’m just happy to know what my check will be, and when I will get it, and that I finally for the first time in my life I won’t have to save for my taxes, they are actually taken out for me.

I have actually been taken aback by people who don’t understand that concept. Having to save up for your taxes. Most people have been dealing with deductions from their paycheck each week, they have never have to worry that they may not have saved enough money. I had to pay six thousand dollars in takes one year.

But back to Locke. They are a versatile company, that compared to what I have had in the past, this is a dream.

I work as a stock boy/driver/checker. And it is a blast.

Stuff is somewhat routine but each warehouse has a manager, and then a senior manager (in my case the plumbing manager) is the manager over the whole store. But my actual boss (because I was just set up in his computer first) is the HVAC, which is a new field for me. I have done plumbing, as a tile and flooring installer, and I have done lots of electrical for myself, but I have never had to deal with 13 Seer 5 ton compressors with air handlers and coils. Much less all of the different styles of duct work and fittings made for that line of work.

Plumbing, well I have scratched the surface of it before, sweating copper, of course just slightly different than the tons of solder I have used in electronics. Toilets or closets as they are actually called, I have set and fixed many. I have connected and repaired my own water thousands of times. But there are many different types of pipe and fittings well and most just the different names that everybody calls something. Well, take for instance, toilet, water closet closet, stool, camode, pisser, crapper… I think you get the idea.

Oh, and the different pipe fittings, do you know how many PVC 90 degree bend elbows, there are in just our store, and how many times we don’t have what someone is looking for?

Well, Locke takes up from 7:30 to 5:00 then the 45 minute drive from Siloam to the Farmington/UofA exit in Fayetteville. Then Mondays and Thursdays is band practice for False Hope. Usually from just as soon as we can get there until about 10:00. Then I usually stay until 11:30 watching anime with my brother. Wednesdays sees me usually at church either running the sound system or playing bass for the worship service. Friday and Saturday typically twice to three time a month is spent playing in False Hope and running their sound system. Saturday is 7:30 till noon for Locke then home for the honey-doos. Then Sunday is running sound for church’s two services and whatever else is going on for someone else.

Which leaves Tuesday for my online and offline computer stuff. Research on the HHO and other off the grid tech. Research for my little town I’d like to build based on the off the grid techs and the deurbanizing concepts. I’d love to do that. I’ll probably be listing my thoughts on that stuff quite often here.

Other Tuesday stuff includes the anime I’m working on, which will get featured here as well. Any artwork that is produced for FH (False Hope) and or my other works. Any writing is usually done then too. Any custom work on my truck is done then also. I’ll be showing that as I go along.

Anyway if you happen to stumble along on me, keep watching. As soon as I feel I have something to offer, I’ll set up my RSS feeds and a Stumble Upon link and all of that…

Have a Happy

About sirkeystone

This dude lives and slaves in the Siloam Springs Arkansas area, where his day job is a flooring installer. For now. An author, artist, guitar repair guy, and loves to play with cars. Not just HotWheels either. Guitar, Bass, and vocals for local False Hope band, an Indie/Country/Rock band that used to be a classic rock cover band.

Posted on June 19, 2008, in Outside work. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ok, nevermind, the RSS feed is done automatically! Life is good

    -Sir Keystone of Fallen Arches

Your Thoughts?

