Hitting the bricks for some links for you!

I’ve been going through my RSS feed from my blog reader, and I though I should show you some of the stuff I have found.
First up, we have some news that I was googling about alternative power sources, especially piezo generators, and while actual piezo transducers would work for wind power transmition, a ribbon generator is very possible and could be built for just a few dollars. Developed for third world countries for cheap power, it is actually based on old technology. Think Violin bow. Yeah, that simple of an idea! It’s called the aeroelastic flutter. Watch this video and then go to the website of the guys who played with this idea!
Also, I got hit over the head with several of popular science articles. How about a home built electric racing motorcycle? Page two of the article is a killer idea about using compressed air to power a moped. And page three is a homebuilt electric car.
The article that started it all was the killer ideas that I will expound on in a later blog post. There are several technologies I want to explore for my villiage! Of course this was for a city concept, but some of this could be used now! Check out the future mega city.
There are some things to note for sure! The new wind tower design, the garden towers, the sidewalk piezo power generator (where I started looking for some other ideas), the magnet powered buses, the rail pods, and many of the other ideas. I will be coming back to this one for sure!

Another set of ideas that were presented in another POP SCI article, was the 10 audacious ideas to save the world. I’m not crazy about the microwave solar satellites, or the flocked plants, but there were other ideas like the nuclear power plants to produce synthetic gasoline from the carbon dioxide from the air. Or the methane digester, powered by sewer systems. Of course, then there is the awesome use of hog urea for plastics and deicers… uh yeah, pig pee… Or then the mini nuke 4S “battery”…
Of course my main source for alot of these things was terrain.org. And there is one more thing I’d like to highlight from their recent blog issue. A highlight of a recently built new urbanist community. I’d love to visit this place!

BTW, this is the first time I haven’t used a outsource editor for my blog. I’m actually writing this from the wordpress area. I love using BlogDesk, but after it messed with my supposed post for Sarah’s birthday, which never got published, and it didn’t seem right to publish it after her birthday… So then I started using the Firefox plug in Scribefire, which is awesome for note collecting, but I have to come here to wordpress to edit my html tags so they’ll actually work, and of course it always post it to uncategorized, whether I change the check boxes or not… But both Scribefire and BlogDesk (which is a separate program) post to all of my blogs should I so desire… So what is a guy to do?

[edit]

Yes I know… The actual WP window itself is killing my links the same way it was killing my ScribeFire and BlogDesk links… It’s on WordPress, not my programs. So I guess I’ll start looking for other ways. Anybody know of a good blog site?

About sirkeystone

This dude lives and slaves in the Siloam Springs Arkansas area, where his day job is a flooring installer. For now. An author, artist, guitar repair guy, and loves to play with cars. Not just HotWheels either. Guitar, Bass, and vocals for local False Hope band, an Indie/Country/Rock band that used to be a classic rock cover band.

Posted on July 29, 2008, in Green Machine, new urbanism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You could try Google sites. It is really easy to use, but doesn’t behave entirely like a blog site.

    http://sites.google.com/site/theinfog/infog-speaks

Your Thoughts?

