Basking in the Glow

As I am now moving into the expansion and rewrite phase of the Nanowrimo novel The Neighbor’s Basement, after an exciting month of fast typing and character development, I look back on my 50K plus manuscript and marvel at the ingenuity that I was able to inject in this piece in only a month.

I have several works in progress, and one of mine has been in the rewrite stage since 1982. Most have been in the plot and story writing stage for several years. Nano has changed me I think.

Why?

Well, I was already looking into being a ghost writer anyway, but I proved to my self over the month of November that I am fully capable of playing up monster stories in a short amount of time.

Of course, I already knew this. I have done it before, but, I have never had a goal to reach before.

Now, I look back on Basement and am seeing a pattern that I can cultivate in many different directions. I already have the skills needed to push for ghost writing, but why stop there?

I am looking to turn one of my works into an animated cartoon. I have kicked around the idea of a graphic novel to kick it off, and now with some of the friends I have made over the past month, I am looking into actually doing this online in a regular update type format.

Just in case you should be interested, I post my work under WeBook.

Also, I would be interested in joining up in a writing co-op to actually put a couple of books out there. If anyone is interested, message me at WeBook.

WeBook is a full scale online word processing site. Spell checker, word count, chapter management, project management, and it has support for graphic novels and children’s books. It is also a publishing site, for a fee they can publish your work. I haven’t looked into whether they are a publish-on-demand or not. It has the capability of gathering research and plot details as notes on your writing page, you don’t have to publish a chapter uless your are ready for someone to see it, and you have every opportunity to revise what you have written even after it has been published to your project page.

WeBook’s first published book, Pandora, was written by 39 authors.

Hmm, just looking over the WeBook site, searching for the P-O-D aspect to let you know for sure, and I find that, the contest I am hearing so much about, that happens once per year, is a user vote. WeBook authors and readers vote on the next book to get published. And after the users vote and select, WeBook offers a contract, which after signed, WeBook takes over publishing and distro!!!

Anyway, today while I savor the first day off in two months and the victory of nano, I will continue to fight Paul and Sven (the laptop and the old server you guys have heard about) and push for some revision and maybe a new chapter on Stage today.

Of course, I have a lot of catching up to do on emails and my squidoo pages, which have been doing well in my absence, much to my surprise! So I leave you with this thought:

What ever you wish to do with your life, break it down in to small steps and then play those steps like a Chess game. Think ahead to several moves from now and stake your claim. Then you will be able to breeze through those next few steps that would have taken months, and when you reach that goal, already have the next one in sight.

About sirkeystone

This dude lives and slaves in the Siloam Springs Arkansas area, where his day job is a flooring installer. For now. An author, artist, guitar repair guy, and loves to play with cars. Not just HotWheels either. Guitar, Bass, and vocals for local False Hope band, an Indie/Country/Rock band that used to be a classic rock cover band.

Posted on December 6, 2008, in Outside work. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve used webook, and it sucks. Sure the editing tools are ok, but all that can just as easily be controlled from your normal desktop software like word. What is more fun is collaborative storytelling sites.

  2. I actually agree, but Pauly (the laptop, don’t have a clue why I named it that…) caught a nasty round of the Virtuamonde virus and had to be rebuilt because it had gotten bad enough to overtax my connection. I would actually get locked off line after eight minutes of being on. Then because of the extra processor power required, the Micro$oft XP would go into a full crash. Now if that had happened while working with Word (actually I use OpenOffice) I would have had to save after every word, and still there was no guarantee that it would be there and not over written by a piece of malware the Virtumonde downloaded.

    Besides that, it gave me a place that I could get to it from work, if I had a moment during the day.

    I am open to better sites because I really haven’t had much luck with the recognition, but I really don’t need it yet.

Your Thoughts?

