How to Start a Band

I have been asked several times, because of my experience in music and bands and performing live, about teaching people how to do what I have done. My experience about bands is now even double fold as I have entered into an agreement to play in a second band now.

I have to admit that I DO NOT know everything, but I have made enough mistakes that I can tell you how to avoid them. And I also have accumulated enough brilliance in my friends that I can confidently say now, that I can tell you how to succeed at starting a band.

I will be going in depth here over the next few episodes about many different aspects of creating a band, or joining a band that already has some circuit experience.

Much of what I will be drawing from is research I have conducted and have already started writing about over at squidoo.com. My latest installment is an ever-changing lens on how to use twitter for your band, which of course is located here.

Of course the Twitter installment is just the tip of the iceburg. I am currently working on a master lens that will be the hub showing you a current 35 links to places that are for PR, distro, advertising, merch, even helping to fund your band.

For now jump into the links above and follow along with me here at the blog as I go even further in depth. Don’t forget my RSS feed!

-aric

About sirkeystone

This dude lives and slaves in the Siloam Springs Arkansas area, where his day job is a flooring installer. For now. An author, artist, guitar repair guy, and loves to play with cars. Not just HotWheels either. Guitar, Bass, and vocals for local False Hope band, an Indie/Country/Rock band that used to be a classic rock cover band.

Posted on June 15, 2009, in Music, Outside work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts?

