Cover WIP for Maraude’s First Book

Just worked up the preliminary artwork for Astronomical.  Let me know what you think!

About sirkeystone

This dude lives and slaves in the Siloam Springs Arkansas area, where his day job is a flooring installer. For now. An author, artist, guitar repair guy, and loves to play with cars. Not just HotWheels either. Guitar, Bass, and vocals for local False Hope band, an Indie/Country/Rock band that used to be a classic rock cover band.

Posted on January 14, 2012, in art, Maraude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Saw your request for comments! I like the 3D/out of focus thing, but I recommend keeping only one strong symbol on the cover instead of three. Something about it feels a bit too busy. I think it may be because the title is in that 3D effect, making the title itself take up more visual space than it would if it were smooth.

  2. Hey Aric,

    I had my fiance look and see if he thought the same thing as me. He said, “Am I supposed to wear 3-D glasses?” Which is pretty much the number one thing that bugs me. It’s hard to take in the rest of the cover because my eyes keep straying back to the title (and the target), trying to see clearly and just getting a headache. 😦

  3. Yeah, I’m getting that a lot. It will probably stay with the reticle, but the title work may need to change.

Your Thoughts?

